the friday hat

November 25 marks both the International Day for the Elimination of Violence Against Women and White Ribbon Day. It is a day for men all around the world to take a stand and pledge to do all they can to end violence against women. I took the pledge last year and felt pretty good about myself however I didn’t appreciate just how significant a problem this is. I didn’t consider Australia to be a country where “real violence” occurred all that often however it seems I was sadly mistaken.

White Ribbon Day

This was especially driven home as I watched the terrible footage of that poor French woman in Melbourne copping the torrent of racist and violent abuse this week. What is perhaps the scariest thing about this is that there were a number of young men encouraging the abuse and seemingly intent on taking it further and further. Now I am sure…

View original post 263 more words

Leave a Reply

